Skip to main content

Share meeting

cultural heritage
Full text

III.1 As proposed by the Delegate of the United States of America, and endorsed by the Delegates of Niger, Japan, Italy, Lebanon, Canada and France, Mr Horst Winkelmann (Germany) was elected by acclamation as Chairperson of the Committee. Mr Lambert Messan (Niger) was elected also by acclamation as Rapporteur, and the following members of the Committee were elected as Vice-Chairpersons: Australia, Italy, Japan, Lebanon and Mexico.

III.2 The newly-elected Chairperson thanked warmly the outgoing Chairperson, Dr Adul Wichiencharoen, for his dedicated work in the past year. Having underlined Dr Wichiencharoen's great experience and passionate commitment to World Heritage, Dr Winkelmann then outlined the challenges that lie ahead of the Committee and which can be met only through a coordinated effort of all parties concerned. The full text of his speech is given in Annex III.