Skip to main content

Share meeting

Full text

14. The General Assembly was .called on to elect seven members to the World Heritage Committee to replace the following seven members whose term of office was due to expire at the end of the 21st session of the General Conference : Algeria, Ecuador, Ghana, Iran, Nigeria, Sudan and Yugoslavia.

15. The list of the States Parties which had presented their candidature was read out before the Assembly. In addition to Ecuador, which had announced earlier in the proceedings that it was no longer a candidate for election to the Committee, the following States then withdrew their candidature : Algeria, Costa Rica, Ghana, Morocco, Nigeria, Norway, Poland and the Syrian Arab Republic. Ten States remained candidates, namely : Afghanistan, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Federal Republic of Germany, Guinea, Guyana, Jordan, Socialist People's Libyan Arab Jamahiriya and Zaire.

16. On the decision of the Chairman, the election was conducted by secret ballot. The delegates of Algeria and Norway were appointed tellers and the Vice-Chairman from Monaco supervised the counting of the votes.

17. The results of the vote which were announced by the Chairman were as follows :

Number of States Parties entitled to vote


Number of States Parties present and voting


Number of invalid ballot papers


Number of votes recorded


Number of votes constituting a majority


Votes obtained by the States candidates :

Brazil 40
Jordan 36
Zaire 33
Guinea 32
Cyprus 30
Socialist People's Libyan Arab Jamahiriya 29
Federal Republic of Germany 27
Canada 25
Afghanistan 17
Guyana 9

The Chairman declared elected to the World Heritage Committee: Brazil, Cyprus, Federal Republic of Germany, Jordan, Guinea, Socialist People's Libyan Arab Jamahiriya and Zaire.