Access information on Multilateral Environmental Agreements

The Protocol sets national emission ceilings for 2010 up to 2020 for four pollutants: sulphur (SO2), nitrogen oxides (NOx), volatile organic compounds (VOCs) and ammonia (NH3). It thus builds on the previous Protocols that addressed sulphur emissions (1985 Protocol; 1994 Protocol), VOCs and NOx. These ceilings were negotiated on the basis of scientific assessments of pollution effects and abatement options. Parties whose emissions have a more severe environmental or health impact and whose emissions are relatively cheap to reduce have to make the biggest cuts.

Glossary term(s)
Entry into force
17 May 2005
Date of text
Sun, 09 February 2014