Pasar al contenido principal


The maritime zones recognized under international law include internal waters, the territorial sea, the contiguous zone, the exclusive economic zone, the continental shelf, the high seas and the Area. With the exception of the high seas and the Area, each of these maritime zones is measured from the baseline determined in accordance with customary international law as reflected in the 1982 Law of the Sea Convention. (Source: National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration, U.S.A.)

In other languages

maritime zone
zone maritime
морская зона
Chino, simplificado
منطقة بحرية

Explore content

Follow up the links below to see InforMEA content related to zona marítima coming up from several external sources.

Multilateral environment agreements tagged with zona marítima

You can see below a list of multilateral environment agreements. Use the links on the right to view the content tagged with zona marítima. This includes official treaty texts, decisions, recommendations, and other related informational documents such as publications, annuals, meetings, documents or reports.